SporeBase Forum
November 24, 2014, 02:50:06 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Here on SporeBase, we don't have all that many rules, but those that we have you must abide by. Click here to make sure you know what's expected!
 
   Home   Help Arcade Search Shop Articles Links Gallery Login Register Wiki  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 12
  Print  
Author Topic: Spore Editor Hack - release.  (Read 68917 times)
RamonNZ
Civilian
*
Posts: 29
0.00 Spice

View Inventory
Send Money to RamonNZ


View Profile
« on: November 25, 2008, 08:20:48 AM »

Here is the spore editor hack I've been working on for a while. You can get it here, or at http://sites.google.com/site/somesporehacking/Home/SporeHack.zip

This hack removes most of the limitations of the Spore editors, allowing you to edit and save your parts any size. This hack also allows:
asymmetrical editing,
unlimited dna/money in editor,
unlimited complexity (ie 'freedom on', but truly unlimited) &
force save any creation (eg an easy way to use the 'grox hack').
-Choose which hacks you want to use under 'Options'.

The program works by patching code in memory. That means that it doesn't affect any of the actual files. The hacks will be gone the next time you run Spore. My program scans the running Spore program for byte patterns and that's how it finds the code locations - so it should work with any version, including future versions! [Edit I just tested it with both cute and creepy expansion, and 1.03, and it works without needing any changes]. When you first run this program, it will take a few seconds to scan the spore executable in memory to find the locations it needs.

REMINDER: Do not forget to name your creations, or they will disappear after they have been force saved. I will fix this at some point soon.

There are errors in one or two of the hacks. The asymmetrical editing isn't 100% yet. I just haven't had the time to perfect it. Also if you forget to name your creations they won't save with force save hack.

Be careful uploading hacked creations. You dunno what EA might do...

I have to credit Sporecheater (Nick) at Sporebase.com for his information on hacking Spore part sizes that got me started on Spore. Also thanks for those who beta tested and gave me feedback: junipe, SporeCheater, CJ001, Nick12506 & spodesgal.

If you find any problems and want to feed back to me, try and figure out which hack or combination of hacks causes which problem, in which circumstance, or I may not be able to recreate the bug (and thus fix it).


Extra tricks:

You probably know about the playing as grox hack, but you can also edit plants by starting Spore in the plant editor, force save a plant in the plant editor, then go to "My Spore Creations" located in "My documents", and you can drag your saved plant into your editor, and the plant editor will come up. Credit CJ001 & Nick12506 for finding this discovery.

I'll upload a really terrible plant png file that you can save drag into spore to start the plant editor up. Just save it, and then drag it into the spore editor.


Feel free to post any problems or bugs, and I'll look at them, but make sure that those aren't on this list:

It won't find some offsets when used in conjunction with some mods, in particular mods which add asymmetry (I think).

*I know about the money going into minus with the infinite spending hack. That was deliberate on my part so that people know how much they've overspent (or you could say cheated).*

You forget to name your creature before you save and exit, you get problems. My bad, I'll fix this at some point soon.

Sometimes creatures when coming out of the cell stage lose their color.

Sometimes if a cell evolves the game crashes. I think this is if you make the spine too big (?). Dunno.

Switching between asymmetrical to symmetrical editing doesn't take effect right away.

When you make creature parts too big it resizes the whole creature (unfortunately), making the rest of the creature miniture

... I'm sure that there are other little glitches here and there which I have been too busy to check fully.




Want to email me some info? ramon.herber@gmail.com
Have fun.
-RamonNZ / TechWarrior

Amber: I've added the updated version (v3) to the OP. Use this if you have Patch 4 or above.

* SporeHack.zip (12.39 KB - downloaded 3120 times.)

* Plant.png (19.03 KB, 128x128 - viewed 36440 times.)
* SporeHackv3b1.1.exe (44 KB - downloaded 2220 times.)
« Last Edit: October 20, 2011, 10:22:42 AM by Celty Sturluson » Logged
SporeCheater
Administrator
Officer
*******
Posts: 875
3518.05 Spice

View Inventory
Send Money to SporeCheater


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2008, 09:10:26 AM »

yeay! good job, tested it with the Cute and Creepy and it works with the new parts too  Wink
Logged


RamonNZ
Civilian
*
Posts: 29
0.00 Spice

View Inventory
Send Money to RamonNZ


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2008, 09:57:01 AM »

Sporecheater: That was lucky. Didn't know there was a patch till after I released. I tried it as well, and I'm glad that it works or I'd be up for the next few hours fixing it.

owned pk: specifics? what error, and won't save the files in what situation?
Logged
RamonNZ
Civilian
*
Posts: 29
0.00 Spice

View Inventory
Send Money to RamonNZ


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2008, 10:23:43 AM »

Owned pk, thanks for the feedback.

Ok, not finding the value #6 - that is the force saving offset. So that one won't work apparently.

Is that the only one it can't find? value #1, #2 & cave value are the ones for size hack. Dunno, maybe it's reporting the wrong hack won't work.

Hmmm..... what version spore are you using? I'm assuming that you're using mods. Just out of curiousity I'd like to know if the same happens if you remove the mods. Nick12506 was having all sorts of problems for a while, and I'm guessing it was because he was also using mods.

I'm getting some sleep, but will check back later.
« Last Edit: November 25, 2008, 10:25:43 AM by RamonNZ » Logged
Nick12506
Guest
« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2008, 11:16:15 AM »

If you have a pirated version it will work only 1/2 the time & RamonNZ You forgot to say you can save plants & extra cells parts on them.
« Last Edit: November 25, 2008, 11:16:26 AM by Nick12506 » Logged
Nick12506
Guest
« Reply #5 on: November 25, 2008, 11:57:44 AM »

Glade i could help.
& can someone send me a extra key to spore i want to go online & i can't:(
« Last Edit: November 25, 2008, 12:05:18 PM by Nick12506 » Logged
RamonNZ
Civilian
*
Posts: 29
0.00 Spice

View Inventory
Send Money to RamonNZ


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: November 25, 2008, 05:08:15 PM »

owned pk... hmm, so I can only assume that the sporeapp.exe therefore compiles some of the info from mods at runtime? I obviously need to check out why this is happening. Thanks again for helping me to figure out what the prob was there.

Ok Nick12506, I'd better add that. My pirated version has not once had problems, but could you give some info on how you saved plants and extra cells parts?
Logged
CJ001
Marine Veteran
***
Posts: 102
0.00 Spice

View Inventory
Send Money to CJ001

Simply CJ001


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: November 25, 2008, 05:40:12 PM »

As I said in my PM, I saved plants by turning on force save and booting in the flora editor.
Logged


I watch over these forums, posting only when I see fit.  Consider me a Guardian, ready to stand for what is right.
Nick12506
Guest
« Reply #8 on: November 25, 2008, 07:21:45 PM »

You don't need to start it up in it if you have a saved plant you can just open it up the way we open hacked creatures & its the same way for the extra cell creature stuff.
Logged
CJ001
Marine Veteran
***
Posts: 102
0.00 Spice

View Inventory
Send Money to CJ001

Simply CJ001


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: November 25, 2008, 07:30:15 PM »

That's what I mean by "Also allows use of the flora editor ingame."
Logged


I watch over these forums, posting only when I see fit.  Consider me a Guardian, ready to stand for what is right.
doctorhj
Civilian
*
Posts: 14
0.00 Spice

View Inventory
Send Money to doctorhj

I love my Pot. Do you love your Pot?


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: November 26, 2008, 08:46:14 AM »

It says "Cannot get a handle on the game (?)"  Also, i get an "error writing to code location #4.2 for symmetrical editing and error writing to code location #4 for asymmetrical. Can i have some help? Huh
« Last Edit: November 26, 2008, 08:57:02 AM by doctorhj » Logged
Nick12506
Guest
« Reply #11 on: November 26, 2008, 10:44:21 AM »

Did you start Spore first? & WAS SPORE RUNNING?? I got that error when it wasn't running.
Logged
doctorhj
Civilian
*
Posts: 14
0.00 Spice

View Inventory
Send Money to doctorhj

I love my Pot. Do you love your Pot?


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: November 26, 2008, 10:59:58 AM »

Yes, and now when i select symmetrical, an error comes up, saying "This hack has missing offsets. It will not patch properly." I just want to know where i can get tose "offsets", or is it possible? Huh
Logged
SporeCheater
Administrator
Officer
*******
Posts: 875
3518.05 Spice

View Inventory
Send Money to SporeCheater


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: November 26, 2008, 11:20:50 AM »

It says "Cannot get a handle on the game (?)"  Also, i get an "error writing to code location #4.2 for symmetrical editing and error writing to code location #4 for asymmetrical. Can i have some help? Huh
Do you have other mods added?
Logged


Nick12506
Guest
« Reply #14 on: November 26, 2008, 11:43:57 AM »

If you have the asymmetrical mod this won't work part of it won't.
Try moving the files that you have that are modded somewere else were it doesn't interfer with the game
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 12
  Print  
 
Jump to:  


+-Today's Birthdays
Aiden55 (48), heipain (35), Skyline (22), je55mcoy (33), Perth153 (44), waiter79cause (33), elwoodrandal36 (38), SainttX (21), evewesm (34)
Powered by EzPortal
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines
SMF customization services by 2by2host.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!